Tags

, , , , , ,

I come from Ho Chi Minh city, Vietnam aka Saigon and we Saigonese drink coffee like water. Well, not quite but we do drink coffee anytime and anywhere. It is almost like a habit, a morning ritual for us to start a new day with a cup of Ca phe da (Vietnamese iced coffee) or its hot variation. Hot coffee warm you up in dreadful rainy days and iced coffee does its magic in 40 degrees summer. It is such a popular and well-loved beverage that you can find anywhere, from the ‘high end’ coffee shop with air conditioner and all the jazz to a modest pavement cafe. The taste doesn’t change much.

Coffee

I literally grew up with coffee. Though I don’t really remember exactly when was the first time I tried coffee, I recall the times when I followed my mum to the coffee roasting store to pick up our order. The smell of freshly roasted coffee beans was probably one of the best smells I have ever smelt my entire life. Growing up I drank my way over all types of coffee, traditional brew, instant, hell I even tried canned coffee.

Now moving to Australia for the time being, I have the chance to try real western style coffee not the heavy customised to suit the local taste ones back home. Oh for the love of Mocha, Caramel Macchiato, Cappuccino, Latte, and don’t forget the Aussie style Flat White.

Mocha @ Passion Tree Brisbane

Though at the first try the coffee here tasted rather bland to me, probably because my spoiled taste buds were still used with the overly sweetness of the drinks back home. It didn’t take me long to get used to it and wolf down gallons per day though.

And again when you are an uni student…living of coffee is nothing short of the usual. You either drink coffee because you genuinely enjoy it or you need it to keep your eye open. Either way, long live coffee!

